The Gospel According To Taylor Swift

Image

– “If you’re missing me / You’d better keep it to yourself / ‘Cause coming back around here / Would be bad for your health”

– “I should’ve been there in the back of your mind / I shouldn’t be asking myself why / You shouldn’t be begging for forgiveness at my feet / You should’ve said no, baby, and you might still have me”

– “This ain’t Hollywood, this is a small town / I was a dreamer before you went and let me down / Now it’s too late for you and your white horse, to come around”

– “Someday I’ll be living in a big ol’ city / And all you’re ever gonna be is mean / Someday I’ll be big enough so you can’t hit me / And all you’re ever gonna be is mean.”

– “Your guard is up and I know why / Because the last time you saw me / Is still burned in the back of your mind / You gave me roses and I left them there to die.”

Just a few of the lyrics from superstar, Taylor Swift.  Her new Album, RED, is number one on iTunes right now. The overriding theme of the album?  You guessed it – failed love.  I am more and more inclined to agree with Mike Keahbone when he posted via Twitter:

@keahbone: Taylor Swift fans better hope that girl never has a stable
relationship. #thedaythemusicdies

From album to album,the names change, but the stories seem to always stay the same.  There is “perfect love” that seems to always remain just out of the grasp of the one so desperately reaching for it.  Tragedy leads to heartbreak and heartbreak leads to a new song.

You don’t have to look far to find the same theme running through today’s TV Shows and Movies.  Everyone is looking for “The One.”  One of the most popular versions of the story feature the perfect guy/girl as a wallflower that is repeatedly overlooked as they watch the object of their affections chase failed relationship after failed relationship.  And when the shattered pieces need to be picked up and put back together again, who is there?  The wallflower.  Never imposing his or her will or demanding a fair shake; but just simply loving, no matter what.  And then the process starts all over again.  The wallflower is left alone to watch another failed romance unravel from a distance.    We, as viewers, are sucked in to this drama so quickly.  We find ourselves rooting for the underdog to finally be noticed and for true love to triumph.  Why?  Because deep down inside, all of us want to believe in True Love.

How ironic, that while we want to believe in True Love, we often live out this all too familiar scenario in our spiritual life and we overlook The Perfect One.   “Jesus, I know you love me, but I am going to set you aside for now and pursue this other thing with my life.”  We desperately chase after so many things – relationships, social status, money, fame, acceptance, and so much more – that eventually, since they are not based on Christ, leave us feeling empty, unfulfilled and many times broken-hearted.  Who do we turn to when we are broken?  Jesus.  Is He there?  Of course.  Never imposing His will, but simply loving us, no matter what.  And then sadly, all too often, the process starts all over again.  “Jesus, I know you love me more than anyone or anything, but…” and off we go to chase yet another heartbreak.   When we wake up day after day and repeatedly overlook Jesus, through our actions we are saying, “Jesus, I know You are great, but I think I can do better on my own.”    How arrogant.

Now before you misinterpret the parallel, let me make one thing perfectly clear.   Jesus is in no way a nerdy guy sitting in the corner saying, “I wish they would just pick me <sigh>.”  He is the Living King of kings and Lord of lords Who has passionately pursued us, His people, throughout history in order to redeem us from sin; for one purpose and one purpose only – His Glory.  The entire course of history is a love story of God passionately pursuing His People.  That is a true “Love Story”

Don’t miss it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Gospel According To Taylor Swift

  1. Janice Myers says:

    Very good!

Leave a Reply

