Do You Follow Jesus?

new_twitter_logo

Do you follow Jesus?

The twittersphere has redefined that word:   follow.

Many people in today’s culture have reduced the idea of following Jesus to just that.  We treat our “relationship” with Christ as if He is a Twitter account.  From time to time, He will show up on our life’s feed amongst all the others influences that we “follow.”  We give Him a quick glace as He makes an appearance, sandwiched between our friends and the other cultural icons that we “follow” religiously.

We even take that extra step and intentionally check out His feed by going to Church almost once a week.  And there is always something there that makes us think – not for very long; but think none the less.  On the rare occasion we even re-tweet what He has to say on our life’s feed and for a brief moment we let His truth impact our lives.  But sadly, that too fades away all too quickly as our attention is once again swept away by other influences.

But, hey, at least we’re “following” Jesus.  Right?

Just a reminder about what Jesus said it meant to follow Him:
“And he said to all, ‘If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.'” – Luke 9:23

Following Jesus does not mean that we insert Him into our lives and treat our association with Him like it’s just another hat we wear: I’m a parent, I’m a teacher, I’m a student, I’m a spouse,  I’m a child, I’m a baseball player, I’m a fisherman, I’m a computer programmer… oh, yeah, I’m a Christian too.

Following Christ doesn’t mean we simply add Him to our life.  It means we give up complete  control of our life to Him and He in turn affects every facet of our life: I’m a Christ Follower who is also a parent, I’m a Christ Follower who is also a student, I’m a Christ Follower who is employed as an Accountant, I’m a Christ Follower who enjoys Cheerleading, I’m a Christ Follower… That has to be the driving force of a person that truly follows Christ.

So the question remains … Do you follow Jesus?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

